Gregg’s Letter About The Good Book and The Big Book: A.A.’s Roots in the Bible

To order a copy of The Good Book and The Big Book: A.A.’s Roots in the Bible, go to amazon.com where you can obtain it in print-on-demand or electronic book format (Kindle) Or order from our site: http://www.dickb.com/goodbook.shtml

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to respond. It was a very pleasant surprise to get an e-mail from you personally. I know you must be busy so I am not expecting another response as I don’t want to tie you up with endless e-mails. However, I did want to let you now how your book “The Good Book and the Big Book affected me personally.

Before I got into AA I was a student of the Bible. I read it cover to cover several times but could not manage to get sober. Eventually I abandoned it and focused solely on AA and the Big Book and got sober. About 4 years ago my sponsor suggested I read The Good Book and The Big Book. I finally got around to it about 6 months after his initial suggestion. That had a powerful affect on me. It immediately got me back into the Bible. It was like being reunited with an old friend.

Since that time I have read the Bible cover to cover about 3 more times. It also gave me an resentment of sorts. I know that resentments are not particularly good for AA’s but I had a resentment that AA was not giving credit where credit is due; namely to Jesus Christ and the Bible.

I had a burning desire to attend a meeting where you could say the name Jesus or read from scripture and not be chastised. I really did not want to begin one myself. I found Christian based recovery meetings in my area such as Celebrate Recovery which were great but they just were not AA. I chanced upon the Came 2 Believe Retreat put on by John R. and was blown away when they openly read scripture. Anyway, after trying hard to suppress the idea, it kept coming up. So I finally gave in and, with the help of a few friends, began a Monday night meeting called Champions and Winners.

Originally I planned call it a Christian-based AA meeting but it was suggested that I forego that because I might catch too much heat. Instead we focused on modeling after early AA, which used the Bible. As a preemptive strike against the AA police critics, I use a excerpt from your book, of course giving you the credit. (see attachment)

We are a 1st Edition Big Book Study. We purchased several 1st Edition reprints in paperback for $4.00 a piece. Also, at the end of the meeting I typically read a paragraph or two from your book.

Anyway, I say all the above just to simply express my gratitude for the work that you are doing for AA as a whole and how your work has affected me personally. THANK YOU AND MAY GOD CONTINUE TO BLESS YOU!

P.S. I already order, Stick with the Winners.

About mauihistorian

Uses pen name Dick B.: Writer, Historian, Retired attorney, Bible student, CDAAC, and active and recovered A.A. member with over 25 years of continuous sobriety. Published 42 titles and over 650 articles on the history of Alcoholics Anonymous and the Christian Recovery Movement. www.dickb.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

