Bill W.’s mention of “Christ” and “the Master” in a letter he wrote in 1940, quoted on page 114 of “As Bill Sees It”

Bill W.’s mention of “Christ” and “the Master”

in a letter he wrote in 1940,

quoted on page 114 of As Bill Sees It

By Dick B.

© 2015 Anonymous. All rights reserved

In a letter Bill W. wrote in 1940, he stated: “At first, the remedy for my personal difficulties seemed so obvious that I could not imagine any alcoholic turning the proposition down were it properly presented to him. Believing so firmly that Christ can do anything, I had the unconscious conceit to suppose that He would do everything through me–right then and in the manner I chose. After six months, I had to admit that not a soul had surely laid hold of the Master–not excepting myself.” [As Bill Sees It (New York, NY: Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc., 1967), 114]

Gloria Deo

About mauihistorian

Uses pen name Dick B.: Writer, Historian, Retired attorney, Bible student, CDAAC, and active and recovered A.A. member with over 25 years of continuous sobriety. Published 42 titles and over 650 articles on the history of Alcoholics Anonymous and the Christian Recovery Movement. www.dickb.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment